On December 5th, I celebrated my one-year anniversary here in Austin. I can’t believe it. And I can. Lots of stuff has happened since last December, that’s for sure. Lots of growth, which is good. That’s why I moved, right? Yes, it is. I felt stagnant in Los Angeles. The past year of my life has been anything but that. Sometimes that has been overwhelming. Lately it has, for sure. First of all, let me say this: I don’t like the Holidays. And I haven’t for a while. There is so much PRESSURE. Pressure to eat. Pressure to have a good time. Pressure to love everyone. Pressure to resolve things before the end of the year. Pressure to find someone. Ugh. Sigh. Blargh. Recently I was dating someone. We’ll call him Dustin. I met Dustin at Kerbey Lane one morning when we were each eating breakfast alone. We ended up eating together and basically falling in like. Romantic, no? Yes. Things progressed and prospered and then suddenly they didn’t. One night Dustin couldn’t wait to see me and the next he stopped returning all communication from me. I love a good mystery if it involves Jerry Orbach and a morose voiceover but when it involves my precious love life, I don’t like it so much. Let me make this clear: I think Dustin is a good guy. Still. I just don’t understand what happened. I guess the most logical thing is that he decided he didn’t want to see me anymore. But something feels off to me. I’m hoping he’s in a coma because I would take that a lot less personally.

Not speaking of plays at all, I got cast in one! I’ll be in the Zachary Scott Theatre production of “August: Osage County.” I cannot wait. Cannot. Wait. It’s a virtual Who’s Who of Who is Who in Theatre here in Austin. I’ll be playing Ivy. If you know the play, you know that she’s a 44 year-old librarian with man troubles. Hmmmmm. Anyway, it opens March 31st and runs until May 22nd. Somebody is gonna be TIRED.

And finally, my New Year’s Resolution is to get off of Facebook. I was going to stay on it through the play so that I could use it for publicity, but really it’s a relationship that has run its course. Maybe I should just not get back to it even if it contacts me and see what happens. Facebook might cry. Facebook might stop eating temporarily. If Jerry Orbach were here he would have the right thing to say, “I guess that application has TIMED OUT!” [exiting frame in a khaki trench coat.]

Merry Christmas, y’all!!!

