You guys, wow.  Things are cookin’.  I have had a great spring and there is no reason to believe it won’t continue into the summer.  It’s been challenging but The Hustle suits me.  Not the dance, the lifestyle.  I’m still teaching improvisation at the State Theatre School of Acting and I finished teaching two kids classes, too, at another theater.  Those kids classes were a challenge.  WHOA.  I thought theatre kids were all well-behaved geeks who are hungry for theatre history knowledge and skills.  Guess what?  They’re not.  Don’t get me wrong, some of them were absolutely delightful, vulnerable, hilarious kids, but some of them want to BE STARS.  Or more accurately, they already know they are stars and I’m just up there wasting their time in not telling them which freeway exit to take to get to the Beverly Center Bebe so they can buy a Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards dress.

I just finished subbing two performances of The Laramie Project II last night.   It was such a positive actor experience for me because I really had to put on my big-girl pants and just do it. Meaning, I had to learn lines, blocking and all that and then just do it when the time came.  It was very rewarding.  Last night, I wanted to celebrate my own mighty accomplishments, but the rest of the cast was “tired” and so they “went home.”  So I did the only thing a girl could do:  I went to Randall’s and bought a piece of butter cake from the closed bakery and a $4.99 bottle of champagne.  The cats and I really did it up when I got home.  No, wait.  I fell asleep reading Once is Not Enough by Jacqueline Susann. (true story)

A super nice girl at the theatre mentioned that she was reading this blog and that she enjoyed it but reading it made her feel like a “creeper.”   Anyway, she was working backstage on the show and I was too embarrassed to ask her name because I thought I should know it.  You know, you should always make a point of learning all the wonderful crew folks’ names.  But like I said, I AM AN ACTRESS!  I mean, she’s going to read this entry and know that I wasn’t sure of her name, but she might not get to it for months. right?  And by that point, we’ll be super close and we can just laugh about it over chai lattes while I ask her to tighten my corset.

Speaking of Corsets (and who wasn’t?), I got cast in a production of The Importance of Being Earnest at St. Edward’s University next school year.  HOORAY!   It’s an Equity contract and I’m very happy about it.  I’ll be playing Miss Prism.

Speaking of Prisms, I joined a writer’s group.  It’s called the Writer’s Workshop and it’s great. http://workshopwriter.com/  It’s a really inspiring and nurturing group.  I’m happy I took the leap.  Also,  I’m going to Paris. WHAT THE?!?!?!  Irene, how can you just slip that into conversation?!?!?!?!  I know.  I’m going with my parents and my niece at the end of June.  I’ve never been in the summer so it will be a whole new ballgame.

Speaking of whole new ballgames, I AM AN ACTRESS!!!!! (again)

