I have definitely been feeling the pull lately to go alot of places here in Los Angeles. Places that I won’t be able to once I live somewhere else. My birthday was last week and for it, I got to eat at two places that I have been wanting to eat for a LONG time: Jar and Pizzeria Mozza. Neither one was a disappointment. I went to Jar with 10 of my gorgeous lady friends and we just celebrated til the cows came home. We all dressed up and were at the restaurant for about 4 hours. It was elegant and grown-up and oh, so enjoyable. Very Mad Men without the cigarettes or infidelity. I went to Mozza two nights later with my aunt and two of my cousins. It was a FANTASTIC meal. Much more casual but no less delicious. Mmmmmm Mmmmmm. I love to eat! Which is why I have gone back to Weight Watchers. No joke, people. If I don’t have that structure I will get to the point where I am wearing formless skirts and leggings in no time. And I was already 10 pounds on my way to that.
I have also been feeling like there are certain “LA things” that I should do before I go. So this week, I had my eyebrows threaded, went to a Yoga Sound Bath and today I am having a Reiki session. I know I can probably do all those things when I move to Austin, but for some reason I feel like I should do them here in the “land of the fruits and nuts” as my father says. Eyebrow Threading is apparently very common and I really liked it. It didn’t hurt like waxing and it took no time at all. The Yoga Sound Bath was a relaxing, restorative class with big gongs, tuning forks and sound bowls being played for 2 hours. It was a very interesting experience. Ultimately, I really enjoyed it, but during the class I thought I was going to scream at one point. And then I got weird pains in my head like I was being brainwashed. And I had trouble moving my limbs. But other than that, it was great. Reiki today should be very low key. You know, you lie there and the person just places their hands on you. And I’m paying for it. (I have to admit though that I LOVE this stuff. I think I have a bit of hippie in me. I don’t know which side of my family it comes from, but I suspect my mother’s. I have an aunt who is regularly labeled as being “unique.”) As my psyche was being assaulted by loud gongs in that yoga class, I had a memory that I hadn’t thought about in YEARS, if ever. I went to Woodstock, New York in the summer of 1991. I spent 5 summers working summer stock for an opera company in Upstate New York called Glimmerglass Opera. I was a dresser and stitcher in the costume shop. One weekend, a group of us drove to Woodstock to see it. Here is the thing: I have only one memory of that day: going into a little souvenir shop that had a HUGE candle that had been burning since 1969. It resembled one of the trees from the Wizard of Oz that comes to life and throws apples at Dorothy. It was tall, gnarled, old and menacing. Clearly, people had just put candles on top of candles to make this happen because you could see old wicks in the huge, hardened, rainbow drips of wax that reached the floor. There was no containing it. As a 20 year-old, I stared at that candle and thought it was the coolest thing I had seen. I don’t remember anything else. I don’t remember who I went with. I don’t remember how long we were there. I don’t remember what else we did. Just that wild, not-to-be-contained candle. And as I thought about this on Friday night, I had a revelation: that thing was a fire hazard. They could have burned that whole charming village down. Silly hippies! But it also made me think about the first time I went to New York City. And here’s the thing: I can’t remember. I mean, it was either 1990 or 1991. But again, I don’t know who I went with. I remember being in a car with someone and then they dropped me off in mid-town somewhere and then in my mind I ended up in New Jersey seeing my friend Jenny Fisch. Did I take a bus? The subway? Gypsy Cab? I know that the following day we all (whoever it was) went to TKTS and got half-price tickets to see “Crazy for You” on Broadway with the chick who was Ariel’s voice. And that there was tap dancing in toe shoes. And that I ran into a guy named Bud Coleman who was a graduate student at UT where I was an undergrad. And that I kept my money in my shoe. AND THOSE ARE MY MEMORIES OF MY FIRST TRIP TO NEW YORK CITY?!?!?!?!?! What the hell?!?!?!?! And it worries me that my memories of Los Angeles are going to become just as fragmented. And I’ll end up telling people, “I don’t remember the details, but yes, that’s me on Friends.” Or “I don’t remember his name, but my goodness, I loved him.” Or “I don’t know how it happened, but yes, I’m fat.”

In 2000, in a fit of feng shui-inspired madness, I threw out all my journals. I’m still glad I did it because it’s not as if I have ever used one for reference, but right about now, I might be able to find out what year I went to New York City. And I how I got to New Jersey without a cellphone or a knowledge of the city. And what the name of the crazy hippie was who probably burned down Woodstock. Well, thank god for blogs.

